Japan Media Arts Distributed Museum

Main theme song


Composed by

SUNAHARA Yoshinori

Japan Media Arts Distributed Museum Theme Song

“Nihon no Sugata” 

“Nihon no Sugata” 

■Motif: The people, animals, nature, and technology of Japan and their history
Artwork: “Nihon no Sugata”

“Nihon no Sugata” [the form/appearance of Japan] is a piece created as the theme song/sound of the Japan Media Arts Distributed Museum, a series in which the artists and creators featured capture the cultural resources borne out of various local cultures through fresh perspectives in places like airports, which serve as gateways to these regions.

The composition’s concept begins with Nihonbashi, considered the origin of modern Japanese culture, where the ‘commonfolk culture’ fostered by its townspeople still thrives, but culminates in an expression of Japan itself. It is imbued with the spirit of Japan’s people, abundant nature, and profound history as well as gratitude toward these things and hope for the future. With each part of the process digital, from composition and recording to mixdown and mastering, this is truly the soundtrack to welcome visitors to Japan in the Reiwa era.

■Artist:SUNAHARA Yoshinori

Born in Hokkaido on September 13, 1969, SUNAHARA was a member of Denki Groove from 1991 to 1999. At the same time, as a solo artist he released the album Crossover in 1995 and both Take Off and Landing and The Sound of ‘70s in 1998. His first album after leaving Denki Groove was Lovebeat, released in 2001. Among others, he produced Aco’s single Yorokobi ni Saku Hana, Supercar’s single Yumegiwa Last Boy, and SATO Chiaki’s (of Kinoko Teikoku) mini-album SickSickSickSick, and has been involved in numerous songs for commercials, background music, etc. More recently he was mastering engineer for tracks by Cornelius, Sakanaction, D.A.N., yahyel, YAKUSHIMARU Etsuko, YMO, TAKAHASHI Yukihiro, HOSONO Haruomi, and other artists. In 2011, he released his first original album in ten years, Liminal. Then in 2015, he formed the group Metafive together with TAKAHASHI Yukihiro, Towa Tei, OYAMADA Keigo, TOMOHIKO Gondo, and IMAI Leo, releasing the album Meta in 2016 and the mini-album Metahalf in November that same year. In 2018, he released the album 3 as a member of Sweet Robots Against The Machine alongside Towa Tei and Bakarhythm.
Twitter: https://twitter.com/_sunahara_

■Production: david watts inc. / MUTEK.JP’s TAKEKAWA Junichi